Carteret County DWI Lawyer
Defending Those Accused of DWI in Coastal North Carolina
In the state of North Carolina, it is considered a criminal offense to drive a motor vehicle while under the influence – no matter whether this is in regards to alcohol or a controlled substance. Many people believe that to be criminally charged with driving while impaired (DWI), they must be proven to have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher. This, however, is untrue.
In fact, according to §20-138.1 of the 2009 North Carolina Code, to be criminally charged, all that must be proven is that you were driving while your ability was impaired. This "impairment" could be from a single beer or could even be the side effects of legal medication, such as cough medicine. The law actually specifically states that it is not considered a defense that the drugs or alcohol was legally consumed if it is determined that it impaired the defendant's driving ability.
Have you been arrested for driving while impaired in Carteret County?
The penalties that are associated with DWI in the state of North Carolina will vary depending on a great variety of different aspects. Fines and imprisonment will be sentenced based on a level system – ranging from Level 1 to Level 5. For example, Level 5 imprisonment would be 24 hours to 60 days of incarceration, while a Level 1 would be 30 days to 2 years.
If you have been criminally charged for driving while ability impaired, it is highly encouraged that you consult with an experienced Carteret County criminal defense lawyer from our legal team at Cummings & Cummings as soon as possible. As a husband and wife team, we have exclusively focused on criminal defense cases – we know the nuances of these cases and are prepared to go the distance in providing our clients with hard-hitting and aggressive defense when it is needed most.
Want to know more about how we can help? Contact a Carteret County DWI attorney from our firm.